Italy, in a month

Wow! Cannot believe it’s been a month since I landed in Florence. I just got back from Sicily this morning and it was a reminiscent of my first landing a month ago.

When I think back on the last month, I’ve learned a LOT about myself and have experienced a LOT of new things!

I’ve learned that I’m like my mom in a lot of ways, especially when trying to make travel plans, and like my dad when trying to get the best deal.

I’ve learned that when trying to learn Italian you realize how much Spanish you actually know.

I’ve learned to use military time and navigate windy roads.

I’ve learned that making travel plans and decisions is hard!

I’ve learned to seek to understand a culture, rather than compare it to my own or thinking its wrong. Also learned how much I miss home and America.

I’ve learned that things are different, but a good different and that perspectives shift and that’s great!

I’ve learned that you feel at home in the little conversations and meeting new people, even if only for a moment.

Like Paul, a man in his 70s/80s who I met at the grocery store. He was visiting his Granddaughter who was studying in Florence and had previously lived in Rome with his wife and kids when he was younger! He was picking up food to take to his wife who wasn’t feeling well before they spent some time in Florence (so cute).

Like Jessica, she runs the wine shop I work at and is from France! She is an expert on wine and has taught me a lot about Italy and had a lot of cool ideas for marketing! She’s so sweet and it’s been a joy to work with her!

Like Billie, the girl I met at church who is traveling to 18 different cities in Europe for her study abroad experience! It was fun to show someone around Florence and talk about how the Lord is challenging us in Study Abroad.

Like Pena, our guide in Taormina and Catania! She was so sweet and so cute and reminded me a little of my grandma. She got us cannolis (which are apparently the best in Sicily) and showed us the fish market and taught us all about the history and culture in Catania.

Like Antonio, the owner of the cheese factory and shop that we visited in Sicily. When talking to him about running a small business in Italy, he told us about his family and  commitment to his community. After a tragedy in the family he inspired us with what he has learned about committing to community. He talked about working for quality of life, working to live, not living to work. His words and commitment for continuous learning inspired us all.

Like Luccio and the host family we had dinner with! We met Luccio, his wife and son, two American guys studying abroad in Taormina, one of their moms, and a past study abroad student who was visiting his host family! It was a lot of people and a lot of food! It was one of the best experiences I’ve had in Italy. So much laughter and the ability to listen to and try to understand Italian and get to talk to some Americans about their very different experiences!

Like my roommates, Courtney, Aleanna and my immediate roommate Hannah. It’s been so fun to get to know these girls and explore Italy with them!

Like the church Mosaico and the bible study there! It’s only been one week but I’m super excited to grow and learn in this group!

This month has definitely been a see as much of Italy as possible month! Next month is gonna be go to as many different countries as possible and I’m so excited!

Thank you all for your prayers!! I’ve been learning and growing and loving Italy a lot! Am so excited to grow in the culture and to continue to discover new things!!!

DSC_0130Hey, good looking DSC_0110Mount Etna!!! SO Breathtaking!!! DSC_2292Cute Roomie Aleanna! DSC_2700Artsy and cool Hannah! DSC_2712Sweet and sick dancer Courtney! DSC_2731Taormina, you’re cool DSC_2836Love the cute little windows DSC_2840It’s all in the Details DSC_2843

DSC_2851Baroque, amirite? DSC_0012Siracusa! You’re weather was sucky but you were pretty! IMG_5365Dang Noto IMG_5339Let’s go to the Beach, Beach DSC_0114Again, Mount Etna, I can’t get over you IMG_5476Lacie our guide for the week! IMG_5346Roman Theatre in Taormina Processed with VSCO with a6 presetVariety Processed with VSCO with a6 presetDon’t know what kind of Melon this was but it was delicious IMG_5342Love the flowers!!! IMG_5447

IMG_5415My school for the week in Sicily! Grazia was the coolest teacher and learned a LOT of Italian! Io vorrie un cappuccino e un cornetto con nutella (Breakfast everyday, all day).

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetFun Fact: The black elements of the buildings are because of the rock from Mount Etna and it’s super neat. Processed with VSCO with a6 presetNutrition!IMG_5404Super cool churches with super cool architecture IMG_5403Let’s go sailing please IMG_5395The Greek Amphitheater in Siracusa! The sun and the stone were so pretty! DSC_2829Look at these fun and lively colors!!!

IMG_5350Our cute guide Pena who was born in Taormina and could tell you any fact about any small thing in all of Sicily!

 

 

Leave a comment