Well it’s been an adjustment!

It’s been almost 2 weeks since I’ve landed in Florence and my study abroad experience has been a mix of emotions. Overwhelming is one word that comes to mind when defining these last couple of weeks. But a good overwhelming, one that shows the beginning of growth, of new perspective and of healthy, needed change.

First couple of days in Florence were a blur of school orientation, new faces, accents and languages. Lots and lots of pasta, a cooking class, a historical walking tour, and winding up and down the streets of Florence. Florence is gorgeous, every building has a history and there are always new things that my roommates and I discover. I can’t believe I get to live here for the next 4 months! It doesn’t seem real!!! While the beauty and excitement of a new semester in a new country is a blessing, it also comes with a sense of discomfort.

My best friend and I are both studying abroad this semester (Her in Ireland, me in Italy, cute, I know) and were discussing this weird mix of emotions that encompasses studying abroad. On one hand we are so incredibly blessed with being in Europe and getting to go to places like Cinque Terre on the weekend. On the other hand culture shock is real, I miss Starbucks and football and fall. I miss hanging with the roomies and seeing everyone after summer. Life is different here, values are different, food is different, and shopping for groceries is way more of a chore here than back home. It’s a mix of emotional, physical and spiritual exhaustion.

I am so thankful for the hope and understanding of all the good that is going to come out of this experience. Already I see my American, middle class, white girl perspective shifting. I get to hear new languages and see new people every day. I am able to learn from some really cool Italian professors and live with the sweetest people. I get to ride trains (ok, sweet but also learning to navigate the train system here is HARD), see ancient buildings and hike mountains (Pics just don’t do it justice). My program gives us an internship for the semester and I get the awesome opportunity to do marketing for a local wine shop/exporter! Hope to come backing knowing how spinning a glass of wine, tells ya the quality of it. I am also excited to learn about an industry and product I know almost nothing about!  God is so good to place me here at this time and I am learning to be present and to acknowledge these struggles, joys and new experiences now! Excited to continue to fill you in on what God is doing!

Here are just a snapshot of a bunch of neat things I’ve gotten to explore!

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetCity full of tourists and locals, history and fashion and lots and lots of pastaDSC_2091The Pitti Palace is a block away from my school! (The Medici family lived here and was a very interesting influence over Florence in the 1400’s! Look them up!)Processed with VSCO with g3 presetCasualProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetCute little market 5 mins from my houseProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetUm, YumProcessed with VSCO with g3 presetI hope a cute, little, old Italian Man drives this.Processed with VSCO with g3 presetThe cool kid way to get around Italy

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

The Duomo! The most famous architecture in Florence and again only 5 minutes from where I live!

Processed with VSCO with g3 presetCannot get enough of this view!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset
The Santa Maria Novella!!!

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Weekend trip to Cinque Terre meant sand, sun and sea!

DSC_2404On the hike between Venazza and Corniglia, two out of the five towns that make up Cinque Terre! We climbed over 100 flights according to our iPhones that day!Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Cute little window

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetPre much my face everyday, in awe of everything around me Processed with VSCO with a6 presetCinque Terre!

DSC_2362Blurry face, cute place. Venazza!IMG_5089One of my roommates Aleanna and the thing we eat every day, Bruschetta!Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Things you can be praying for: Intentionality with my time here, with roommates and with going out and meeting new people.That I would be constantly leaning on God and looking to His direction instead of what I or the world wants. That I would establish a routine and be able to get involved with a Church!

 

 

 

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Doug says:

    Thanks for sharing… super cool photos! So happy for you!!

    Like

Leave a comment